Run (Cache) Fessions: Spring 2017

First, an update.  It’s been nearly three months since my last blog post.  Hubby is just about at the halfway point in his cancer treatments.  We’ve had ups and downs, good days and bad days.  I’m learning to trust God like I’ve never had to trust Him before.  The way I see it I don’t have any other choice but to trust Him, and I’ve told Him so to His face.  He knows what I want, but I can’t control what happens.  Hubs and I are both learning how important it is to hang on to each other, our boys, and the things that make us happy; and for me one of those things is running.

So let’s get to some RunFessions, shall we?

–1–

I runfess… race reports are fun to read, and a good way to get an idea of what a race is like before signing up.  I enjoy writing them too.  It’s a good way for me to relive the day, and to take stock of what went right and what could have gone better.  Needless to say I haven’t written one for the last three races I’ve done.  I can sum them up in about four sentences:  The 2017 Dalhgren Trail Half, J. Brian’s 15K, and Historic Half were all super awesome.  I ran them all slower than I expected.  I wasn’t trying to PR in any of them.  I ran them for the fun of it, and had a great time at all of them.

 

–2–

I’ve always imagined that running a race that involved repeating several loops on a course would be BO-RING.  Who wants to look at the same things over and over again?  Well, as some of you know we’re huge Indy Car Racing fans.  As I’ve been watching races on TV these last few months, I’ve realized that race car drivers do exactly that:  drive around and around the same course a bajillion times for two plus hours.  I runfess… Maybe running multiple loops wouldn’t be so bad.  Perhaps it’s time to put those races back on the table?

img_4478

(At the 2013 Indianapolis 500.  When we watched 30+ cars drive super fast around a 2.5-mile track 200 times for like 3 hours.)

–3–

I cache-fess… What caches?  Heck, if I find eighteen geocaches to reach my 600-find milestone by the end of the summer, I’ll be happy.  And if I don’t so be it.  My vow to find 100 caches in 2017 is pretty much out the window.  And forget about trying to hide any.  It’s all I can do to maintain the ones I’ve already got.

IMG_20170529_095355

(At the tail end of May I found my first geocache since, like, February, GC47Z58.  In fact when I signed the log I forgot what year it was. Since then I’ve found maybe four or five others.)

–4–

I runfess… running solo is great, but running with friends is awesome.

Oh, BY THE WAY… Have you ever gone to meet your friends for a group run only to discover you’ve gone to the wrong place??  Yup.

20170607_081709

–5–

I runfess… If you’ve been following this blog, you know that I’ve dabbled in a little trail running.  I think I said once that when I’m on the trail I forget how tired I am.  I take that back.  Trail running can be FREAKING HARD.  But… it’s awesome and I want to do more of it and maybe run a 50K.  There, I said it.

I hope it isn’t another three months before I post here again.  My Instagram page is a blog of sorts; I post there almost daily (except when I don’t) and sometimes I have enough to say for practically an entire blog post.  Follow me there for a more comprehensive look at what’s going on in my running and family life.  Have a safe and festive Independence Day weekend, y’all!

I’m linking up with Marcia for RunFessions and Miranda, Lacey, and Rachel for Friday Five.

6 thoughts on “Run (Cache) Fessions: Spring 2017

  1. Trail running is so much harder! But it is beautiful. I don’t think I’ve shown up at the wrong place for a run but I once showed up an hour EARLY. Ugh!!! I could have slept in!

    Best wishes to your hubby. It sounds like you are both hanging tough.

    Like

    1. I haven’t written about geocaching in a while, I want to again soon! 🙂 You might want to check out this YouTube channel, The Geocaching Vlogger. It’s a guy in Minnesota who loves geocaching and makes great videos about it. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

