Run(cache)fessions, February 2017

–1–

I runfess… I haven’t posted here since last month’s runfessions.  So much for my resolution to blog twice a month.  (Thanks Marcia’s Healthy Slice for hosting the Runfessions  linkup, and to Kelly at This Ain’t the Lyceum for the 7 Quick Takes.  And I think that’s the most links I’ve put in one take.)

–2–

I runfess… I ran my third overall slowest half marathon last weekend, the Dahlgren Trail Half.  When I ran this race last year I felt strong and I think I did pretty well considering it was my first race strictly on unpaved trails.  This year, not so much.  My legs felt heavy and tired and the fact that I was fighting a cold didn’t help.  My other excuse is that I’d been pushing myself quite a bit the week before, so of course I’m going to be sluggish.  It’s a great race though, and I can’t wait to go back next year.

20170218_080253-1

(With my MRTT friend Madeline, before the race.  She finished way before I did.)

–3–

I runfess… I’m not one of those bloggers who gets a race report up within a couple of days.  I’m doing well if I publish something a month after the fact.  So I hope you’ll bear with me, and I’ll try my best to post a recap of the Dahlgren Trail Half in the next couple of weeks.  Unless I give up social media for Lent, including blogging, which I’m seriously thinking about doing.  Then it will take even longer.  We’ll see…

–4–

I cache-fess… There are fourteen geocaches along the Dahlgren Railroad Heritage Trail where I ran the half last weekend.  Guess how many of them I’ve found?  One.  It’s the cache right at the trailhead, underneath the old railroad car that’s displayed there.  The rest are along the trail.  Last year when I came to run the race I couldn’t find it, and I made big plans to come back in the near future to avenge that DNF and look for some of the other caches as well.  Did I?  Of course not!  I did manage to find the trailhead cache this time around though.  Hopefully I’ll have some time to find more of them before next year’s race.  Otherwise I might have to bring a pen and get one or two of them during the race, like The Geocaching Vlogger did in 2015 when he ran his marathon in Minnesota.

–5–

I runfess… I count walks and hikes when I’m adding up my weekly mileage.  Some people might consider this cheating but I don’t care.  I’m moving my body through space from Point A to Point B, getting my heart rate up, and even working up a sweat. On Presidents Day I walked five miles with some friends from Life Runners, and the previous weekend our family hiked four miles on the Chancellorsville battlefield.  Nine miles.  Totally counts.

–6–

I runfess… I’ve been faithfully taking my weight-training classes twice a week, that is until this past Wednesday when I missed it because my middle son and I spent the afternoon and evening buying him a car.  I can’t think of too many things that are more unpleasant than to spend two hours haggling with a used car salesman. (OK, I can think of at least one thing.  Your husband having cancer.  That really sucks.)

–7–

I runfess… I’m starting to think about maybe signing up for Premium on Spotify.  A couple of weeks ago I accidentally hit the “try premium” button when I had it pulled up on my phone, and for a week of runs, I was able to stream my music with no commercials and I could skip as much as I wanted.  Now that I’m back to the old free version I kinda miss that.  I’d love it if someone tells me that it’s totally a ripoff and I’d be wasting my money and I shouldn’t bother.  (And if I give up listening to music on runs for Lent, like I did last year, it won’t matter.  Until after Easter, of course…)

This is where I usually post my stats for the month.  I’ll try and do that next week when February is over and I’ve run a few more miles (probably won’t find any more geocaches, though, but who knows?)  Have a great weekend and be sure to visit Marcia’s Healthy Slice for more Runfessions, and This Ain’t the Lyceum for more Quick Takes!

(OH!  I realized I should probably give you an update on my smashed foot.  It’s totally fine.  Thank goodness.  See you soon, I hope!)

7 thoughts on “Run(cache)fessions, February 2017

  1. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets

    I definitely recommend premium Spotify…it’s completely changed my life, lol! I listen to it everyday and I could never go back to having ads.

    I hear you on it being tough to blog regularly. I think you have to follow your gut…the blog is always ready for you when you come back!

    And I think including walking mileage is great. I was just at Universal Orlando and we hit over 20 miles the whole weekend…that definitely counts in my book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think if I had Premium I’d also listen every day, and not just when I’m running. I’d probably add some stuff to my playlist and download all kinds of things to my phone until I didn’t have room for anything else! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

