Year of Running (and caching) 2016

It’s time once again to post the highlights of my running and geocaching adventures in 2016!  I’m linking up with Courtney at Eat Pray Run DC.  It’s been an interesting year to say the least!

year of running 2016

Best Race Experience:  The Blue Ridge Half Marathon.  Those folks really know how to put on a race.  I’ve come to discover that a race is like a party:  some are big and loud, others are smaller and low-key, but they’re all fun in their own ways.  Blue Ridge was my slowest half marathon, but I enjoyed every second of it and smiled the whole time.  There’s lots of parking, plenty of porta-potties at the start, and the finish party is amazing.

race_2041_photo_33311246

Best Run:  Do I have to pick only one?  Hmmm… maybe my 9-miler along the coast of Maui?  Maybe my last MCM training run which was supposed to be 18 miles but ended up being 21 because I felt so good?  Maybe one of the amazing group runs I participated in this past summer?  My amazing 14-miler I did just the other day?  Running the Dahlgren Trail Half in February, which was one of my strongest races and SO MUCH FUN?  I’m going down a rabbit hole here.  Seriously, I’ve had so many great runs I can’t just pick one!  Sorry, Courtney!

Best New Piece of Running Gear:  My Knuckle Lights.  I don’t hate running in the dark anymore!

20161028_190347-2

Best Running Advice You’ve Received This Year:  Go For It.  Same as last year.

Most Inspirational Runner:  Katie.  She’s been through a lot this year and still finds joy in running and in her family and friends.  She doesn’t give up and inspires and encourages the people around her to be the best they can be.

IMG_20160403_141230(Me and Katie, on a chilly springtime run.)

Favorite picture from a run or race this year:  This one that Ray took of me at the Historic Half.  After a miserable race in 2015 I decided that my number one goal for EVERY RACE would be to have fun.  I can try my best and set time goals, but if it’s not fun then it’s pointless.

IMG_20160516_181403

Race Experience You Would Repeat in a Heartbeat:  The Historic Half.  I’m going to run the Devil Dog Double this year (run the Semper Five Mile in 45 minutes and then immediately run the half marathon), which will be a challenge–OK, it’s going to be FREAKING HARD–but I still want to have just as much fun!

Download (2)

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be?  I’ll give you one:  THANKFUL.  I’m thankful for the gift of running.  I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made on my running adventures.  I’m thankful for the amazing doctors who have been with Ray through his colon cancer journey.  I’m thankful for his health, and that he won’t need chemo because we caught it before it had a chance to spread.  I’m thankful for my family, my friends, my job, and my health.

Best geocache found:  Pu’u’ula’ula (GC18Z99), the Earthcache at the summit of Haleakala in Hawaii.

Best geocache found while running:  A tossup between A Sanctuary for Humpback Whales (GC64A94) on Maui and Virginia Highland Bibliophiles #1 (GC4K6JP) in Atlanta.

Milestones: 

500th cache (found March 28):  Leave It To Beaver (GC3GYVM).  I’m on number 570.  I’d better get cracking if I’m going to find No. 600 in 2017!

DNFs:  30

Total caches found in 2016 (so far):  83.  Dismal.  Maybe I’ll find a few more next week. I found some good ones, and ran over a thousand miles, though, so….

 

What were your running and/or geocaching highlights in 2016?

Head on over to Eat Pray Run DC to join the linkup!  Thanks Courtney for hosting!

One thought on “Year of Running (and caching) 2016

Leave a Reply

