RunnerCaching Savannah, October 2015

Welcome back to my much-neglected blog!  I am planning to post a wrap of my running and geocaching adventures from September and October soon, hopefully by the end of next week.  Ray is recovering nicely from his surgery; I’ll talk more about that in my next post.  Thank you everyone for your thoughts and prayers.

Meanwhile, in honor of those running the Rock ‘n Roll Savannah Marathon this weekend, here’s a few highlights from a trip Ray and I took on Columbus Day weekend last year.  There was only a little bit of running and a little bit of geocaching, but a whole lot of fun and R&R on that short getaway.  Enjoy!

–1–

We stayed at the historic River Street Inn, with a lovely view of the Savannah River.  While Ray checked into the hotel I was able to find the virtual cache at the old cotton exchange next door, plus another nano right by the hotel entrance!

–2–

They say New Orleans is known for its amazing food.  Well, there’s some great places to eat in Savannah too!  Of course we had to check out Paula Deen’s restaurant, The Lady and Sons.  I had the shrimp and grits.

20151009_185353-1

Our favorite eatery from that trip?  The Treylor Park on Bay Street.  If you’re ever in Savannah, THAT’s the place to go! (Trey’s food is even better than Paula’s, if you want my honest opinion.)

–3–

On Saturday morning I got up early and got in a 10K run to explore Old Savannah.  I started in the dark, and it took forever because I stopped to look for a few geocaches–but didn’t find a single one.  My run was amazing and beautiful, though!

 

20151010_075236

20151010_071853

20151010_064504

(In one of the many squares in Old Savannah there is a two-stage multicache that involves gathering some bits of information on this sign.  It was dark when I got there so I took a photo of it and later I was able to get what I needed to find stage 2.  So this run wasn’t a complete geocaching failure!)

–4–

There was some rain on Saturday, and we took a trolley ride around the city and took a tour of one of the historic homes.  Saturday night we took one of their popular ghost tours.  We didn’t take many photos that day–sometimes you just need to be fully present, and enjoy the moment without a camera in front of your face.

img_0886

–5–

Sunday I had a little bit more luck with geocaching; I got up early to find Stage 2 of the multicache I had visited on my run the previous day, as well as the one by the famous Waving Girl statue by the Savannah River.  I also sneaked out for one more cache not far from our hotel later in the day. (Oh, and if you don’t like geocaching spoilers, don’t look at these next three photos…)

–6–

One great thing about old Savannah is you can walk just about anywhere.  We walked to the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist on Sunday morning for Mass, and then we took our own little walking tour of the city!

–7–

On Sunday afternoon we decided to drive to the famous Bonaventure Cemetery, another must-see place if you’re ever in Savannah.

(I was drawn to this lady, Julie Smith, who passed away in 2003.  Savannah’s fastest female marathoner, educator, trail blazer, beauty queen, among many other achievements.  “Always setting her goals high, Julie excelled in each endeavor.”  I want to do that.)

Miles Run: 6

Geocaches found: 5

DNFs: Too Many

Weekend: Amazing

GOOD LUCK to everyone running the Savannah marathon today!  Someday I’ll be running it too.  Have a great weekend!

I’m linking up with Kelly on This Ain’t the Lyceum; be sure to check it out!

 

Leave a Reply

