RunnerCache Wrap, June 2016

 I woke up this morning to news of the terrible shootings in Dallas.  This summer has seen way too many tragedies and violence.  May God bless the victims and their families, our country, and our world.

IMG_20160708_083109

–1–

I hope you all had a great July 4 weekend!  Mine was very laid back, filled with laziness, time with friends, a fun local race, and Disney movies.  I’ll save the details for a later post; after all I’m supposed to be talking about my June adventures here…

–2–

Now that school is out, my days are a little bit more flexible, and I can fit more geocaching and more running in!  I found 16 caches, and ran 110 miles–which is the most I’ve run in a month ever!  (So far in July I’ve found two caches–I’m already behind! I’d better get back out there…)

20160629_081300( I found the 16th and final cache for June near the fire station in Spotsylvania Courthouse.)

–3–

I’ve started increasing my long runs to train for the Marine Corps Marathon.  I also want to run the Hokie Half on October 9, three weeks before MCM, so I’m trying to work my training schedule to include that.  My hope is to get in 24+ miles the weekend of the 24th of September, taper way down for two weeks, and run the Hokie Half plus 7 extra miles.  From my parents’ house to the start line is about 3 1/2 miles, so…  am I crazy?

I haven’t quite decided on a strategy yet.  Meanwhile I’m using Jeff Galloway’s marathon training schedule and pulling workouts from Train Like a Mother as well.  I did a tempo run (with 30-second regular walk breaks–does that count?) on the 28th, and the humidity just about did me in.  I’m hoping to do at least one workout a week from their “Own It” training plan.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

20160628_073457

–4–

I’ve been running with friends at least once a week, and every Wednesday I’ve started meeting some ladies from Moms Run This Town to run on the Spotsylvania Courthouse battlefield.  I’ve also started meeting some of my Life Runners peeps as well.  The great thing about running with other people, aside from the great company, is that everyone runs at a  different pace.  One day I might be running with someone with a faster pace than mine, which challenges me to push myself to go a little faster than I normally would.  Other times I’m running a little bit slower, which is great for building a good aerobic base and to recover if I’ve had a hard or long run the day before.  I enjoy a good easy run where I can talk to my friends and enjoy their company!

20160625_072743(Our first “official” Life Runners meetup!  We ran and walked three miles along busy Cowan Boulevard.)

–5–

Our Christmas present from my brother-in-law and his family was a to have a girls’ weekend in Atlanta, and a guys’ weekend here in Fredericksburg.  On Friday the 10th I flew to Atlanta to spend the weekend with Pamela and Maria and we would do girl stuff, and Bill and John came here and all the guys did guy stuff.  The boys had a fun time here together, grilling and making s’mores out on our deck and visiting the Breakout Game. (If you read my last RunnerCache Wrap post, we did something similar in Richmond back in April.)  As for me, it couldn’t have been a more wonderful weekend!  We ate at some amazing restaurants, had our nails done (first time for me ever, if you can believe that), lounged at the pool, and spent an afternoon with my brother and sister-in-law and my nephews, who are growing up way too fast.  And of course I managed to sneak in a little bit of running and geocaching, too.  I’m thinking the weekend deserves its own post, so I won’t tell you any more here, but here’s a sneak peek:

20160611_11030620160612_071743

–6–

RunChat had another scavenger hunt in June, with a fresh list of items to photograph and post on the run.  As I write this they are in the process of picking out the winners.  I know since I won the grand prize in their last hunt over Christmas, my chances are slim, but it’s still fun to participate!  Here are a few of my favorite photos that I posted during the scavenger hunt:

–7–

I got a free subscription to Runner’s World from the Marine Corps Marathon just for being on their mailing list!  In addition to the great running stories and advice, they always publish a few healthy and yummy recipes.  My goal is to try at least one from every issue and share it here.  I made this delicious papaya and red onion salsa last week from the June issue:

PAPAYA AND RED ONION SALAD

Serve with fish or chicken.

2 cups 1/2″ diced firm, ripe papaya

1/2 cup diced red onion

1/2 cup diced bell pepper

1 Tbsp. minced fresh jalapeno

1/4 cup or more chopped fresh cilantro leaves

3 Tbsp. freshly squeezed lime juice, plus more to taste

1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Add ingredients in bowl and stir to combine.  Let sit for 5 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasoning, adding more chiles, lime, or salt as needed.  Serve immediately or refrigerate for up to 2 hours.  (Bring back to room temperature before serving.)  Makes 2 1/2 cups (1/4 cup per serving).

I served it with grilled chicken, and everyone gave it a thumbs up.

I have some ambitious goals for this blog in July!  Not only do I plan to tell you about my weekend in Atlanta and the race I ran on July 4, but I’m also hoping to give you another RunnerCaching Fred post (long overdue) and of course another recipe from Runner’s World.  Fingers crossed I can do all that!

Miles run: 110

Geocaches found: 16

Caches found while running: 4

DNF (Did Not Find): 10 (!!)

Races: Owen Lea 10K

Seven-Quick-Takes-300x300

I’m linking up with Kelly at This Ain’t the Lyceum.  Have a wonderful weekend, and I’ll leave you with this wonderful video by Matt Maher that Jennifer Fulwiler posted this morning on her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

