Runnercache Wrap: April and May, 2016 {7QT}

School is out and I finally have time to post here!  I’m linking up with Kelly at This Ain’t the Lyceum.

–1–

First off, there’s not much to say about my geocaching these last two months because it’s been practically nonexistent.  I found a grand total of five:  three LPCs  (Light Pole Caches, small containers hidden under the boxy part of a light pole, considered by some to be the most boring and lame type of hide), one pill bottle in a bush behind a light pole (pill bottles in bushes are my LEAST favorite kind), and one in a gazebo.  That one was pretty fun; keep reading to see why.

–2–

Have you ever been to an escape room?  I’d never heard of such a thing until Ray suggested we visit the one in Richmond one Saturday when we were looking for something to do.  It’s a game where you’re “locked” in a room for an hour and you have to solve puzzles and clues to figure out how to get out.  Like one giant puzzle cache.  It’s on the back side of a shopping center, and you might not notice it if you weren’t  really looking.  It was a lot of fun, and we learned that there is a similar place right here in Fredericksburg!  Who knew??  And in the little gazebo behind the shopping center was a geocache.  Good times!

–3–

I ran two races in April:  The J. Brian’s Taproom 15K here in Fredericksburg (see my last post for a recap), and the Blue Ridge Half Marathon in Roanoke.  That was one of the best races EVER, and I can’t wait to tell you about it in my next post!  Stay tuned!

20160416_181032-1

(I found a geocache here on my way home after the Blue Ridge Half.)

–4–

May is Historic Half month here in Fredericksburg, and I ran it for the third year in a row.  I’ll tell you more about it in a future post, but I will say that it was the MOST fun I’ve had running the Historic Half. Great crowd support, very well organized, plenty of water stops and portapotties.  It’s the biggest party in town, and I wouldn’t miss it for anything.

IMG_20160516_181403

On Memorial Day I ran the Civitans 10K, and I came in a couple of minutes faster than the Father’s Day 10K last June!  Hopefully a recap of that race will be posted soon (I’m SO behind!  GAH!)

–5–

We’ve had so much rain this spring!  It’s my excuse for not geocaching (plus the fact that the last two months of the preschool year are always super hectic).  The weekend after the Historic Half and before Memorial Day weekend we visited Shenandoah National Park with my parents.  We spent a wonderful weekend together, despite the drizzle and the fog and the chill and the fact that the power went out for most of the day Saturday at Big Meadows where we were staying.  We went on a wet but beautiful hike to Rose River falls;

20160521_122944

  my parents and I walked a little bit on the gravel road in the Big Meadow where we listened to the birds and watched a doe care for her newborn fawn;

  and on Sunday morning I went for a run on that same gravel road and on the walking trail that leads from Big Meadows Lodge to the visitor’s center.  There are no geocaches in the national park–except for a couple of Earthcaches that I have yet to visit–but I did manage to find some CASH! 🙂

IMG_20160522_133328

–6–

I try not to run in the dark if I can help it.  Last summer when I was training for the Richmond Marathon I did a few before-dawn runs when I needed lots of miles.  This spring I’ve had a full schedule and no time to run after work (it was getting too warm for that, anyway), so I went out for a few weekday oh-dark-thirty, five am runs.  I bring my headlamp and my reflective gear, park at my church (St. Mary’s) on William Street, and follow the street lights.  I’m learning that running in the dark isn’t so bad, as long as you can at least kind of see where you’re going.

–7–

One of my New Years’ resolutions was to go on more group runs.  I’ve done lots of those with my Moms Run This Town sistas!  Running is a great way for an introvert like me to make new friends!

Miles run: 141

Miles hiked: 4 (according to my Fitbit, I climbed 96 floors on that hike in Shenandoah NP!)

Geocaches found: 5 (4 in April and 1 in May)

Caches found while running: 0

DNFs:  3

Races:  J. Brian’s Taproom 15K, Blue Ridge Half Marathon, Marine Corps Historic Half Marathon, and Civitans 10K (41.7 miles)

Stay tuned for a recap of the Blue Ridge Half Marathon, and be sure to visit Kelly’s blog for more quick takes!

Leave a Reply

