Runnercacher’s Resolutions: 16 for 2016

Happy 2016!

As we begin the new year, I thought I’d share with you some goals that I’ve been mulling over these past few days.  Some are very specific, some are more general, many are about running, a few are geocaching-related, some are neither.  They might not seem very ambitious, but I want to keep them realistic, while at the same time challenge myself a little bit.  Here we go, drumroll please!

20150620_085318

  1.  Pray every morning, and during every solo run.
  2. Run with a group at least once a month.
  3. Run a fall marathon.  Try to get into the Marine Corps Marathon, and if that fails pick another one.  I have a few in mind! 🙂
  4. Run at least one trail race.
  5. Stay active with LIFE Runners, even if it just means wearing my LIFE Runners blue during some of my runs and races. (Side note:  LIFE Runners’ national race this year is the Philadelphia Marathon.  It’s the weekend before Thanksgiving, which is not the best time for me to be out of town at this point in my life.  If I don’t get into the Marine Corps Marathon, I’ll look into it…)
  6. Run 1000 miles.
  7. Hide three geocaches.
  8. Do a better job of maintaining the few geocaches that I’ve already hidden.
  9. Do my best to maintain a roughly 10:1 ratio of traditional geocache finds versus nontraditional ones (mystery or puzzle caches, virtuals, earthcaches, multi-stage caches).
  10. Attend a geocaching event (which counts as a non-traditional find).  This might be easier said than done, since the rest of my family doesn’t geocache.  I’d either have to come by myself or drag someone with me against their will.
  11. Read one book a month.  (I spend too much time looking at my phone.  It’s time for that to stop.)
  12. Participate in 40 Days For Life.
  13. Visit my elderly relative in Richmond whenever I’m there for a race or a 40 Days for Life event.
  14. I’ve had Fitbit for a couple of years now.  The only times I don’t hit 10,000 steps are days when I’m not working and I don’t run.  During the school year it’s about once a week, and during the summer it’s more.  (My job as a preschool teacher keeps me moving most of the day.)  This year I want to hit the 10,000-step mark EVERY day.  The best way to achieve this?  Clean something in the house before bed.
  15. Eat more vegetables.
  16. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, spend as much time and energy on my family, my work, and my relationship with Jesus Christ as I do on my running.

20151219_171510

This list turned out longer than I expected!  I opted not to put down any time goals (although breaking an hour in the 10K, 1:30 in the 15K or 2:15 in the half would be nice…not to mention beating 5:40 in the marathon), because I want to make sure I’m running for the joy of it.  This year’s Historic Half was kind of a turning point for me, because I was so focused on beating Sean Astin’s time of 2:11:58 that I pushed myself too hard in the heat, and I didn’t really enjoy the race.  I’d rather (and I’m sure Sean would agree) have a great time and enjoy myself than chase some random number and be miserable.  I’ll beat Sean someday, but the main reason I started running in the first place is because I could, and because it makes me feel alive.  The rest is just fluff.

 

School starts up again on Monday.  I don’t know how often I’ll be able to post here after today.  I do want to share my favorite geocaches from 2015 that I found while running or when I went to a race, so stay tuned for that!

 

What are your fitness and/or geocaching goals for 2016?
Leave a Reply

